Fearing Time

IMG_6393

Dear Quiet Minds,

I find that the root of my anxieties stems primarily from the feeling that I don’t have enough time. For instance, I don’t have enough time to come up with a topic for my blog. Or I don’t have enough time to relax before summer classes start rolling around.

Being present is extremely difficult because you’re constantly worrying about what you have to do next. I’m always saying once classes end, I’ll be able to do all those things I want to do. Waiting until classes end is the definition of wasted time. Why can’t we just start doing what we want to do now? Despite the endless piles of homework and the long list of errands, we have to find a way to fulfill our goals. There’s always enough time. We just have to learn how to manage it.

Maybe instead of looking through Instagram or watching the newest videos of your favorite YouTuber (which we’re all guilty of, me included), why not take time to do all those things you’ve been planning. Go on that walk, write the blog post, draw, learn something, anything that can make you happy. Social media has become such a dominating part of our lives. We live vicariously through the lives of those we follow because their lives appear more interesting and exciting.

IMG_0854

But we have to put down the phones and take the time to do something that makes us feel like ourselves. Writing this blog makes me feel productive. It makes me feel like, in some odd way, my life is advancing. Even if this blog post is the worst thing ever written or a total waste of time, it makes me feel like I’m enriching my life because I finally decided to take the next step and start a blog in the first place. Sometimes I struggle to get everything done because I feel like every task I accomplish has to be done perfectly. I get stressed because I fear I am wasting my time on something that is absolutely pointless. However, we all have to realize that no matter what we do, either perfect or downright boring, time is going to be wasted because the minute hand is constantly ticking away.

But all we have to do is take a step back and breathe. Take a minute to think about our goals and what makes us happy. Once we do that, time doesn’t seem so scary anymore.

Love,
Jackie

 

Leave a Reply

