Discovering My Passion

img_2597-e1535156532640.jpg

Dear Quiet Minds,

It has been awhile since my last blog post and what an adventure it has been!

This summer I decided to take some time off and really focus on my goals and future aspirations. One of my professors helped me get an internship and even though I was scared to embark on this unknown journey, there were certain events in my life that pushed me to take the leap. I realized that I was surrounded by people who were diminishing my self-worth and putting stress into my life. I seemed to be an empty vessel to them, where they constantly dumped their problems. Once I realized that I was no longer earning the respect I deserved, I decided to distance myself and focus on my passions.

I got the chance to be a production intern for South Florida PBS and it was the change I needed in order to learn more about myself. In South Florida PBS, I had the opportunity to work with two kinds of people: experts who had been in the industry for decades and young adults who had just graduated college. It was beautiful to see how these two groups of people interacted with kindness, humor and drive. They all seemed like a very supportive family and every person had their own role within the company. Working in this type of atmosphere took such a weight off my shoulders because I felt comfortable and safe. I didn’t have to fear failure because I knew that I needed to take risks in order to learn.

It was a very liberating experience. I wasn’t tied down or restricted by a grade or requirement. Instead I had the freedom to take initiative, suggest ideas and be as creative as I wanted to be.

img_2347.jpg

In this internship, I had the chance to edit news packages, call potential guests and create graphics for a program called “Your South Florida”. I was also able to go on various shoots with the South Florida PBS crew. One of my favorite shoots was about the Ghost Orchid. The producer, another intern and I went to the Fakahatchee Strand to interview Mike, a ranger who does swamp tours. He took us deep into the swamp with our walking sticks in search of the mysterious, fairy-like orchid. It was a day I will never forget. Mike stared at the world in amazement, like it was the first time he had seen it. Looking back now, I was hip deep in dirty water, had almost fallen to my death multiple times and yet, it was one of my happiest moments. IMG_2353

I also got to be a part of various training sessions, where the videographers taught me how to use different types of cameras and equipment. The PBS crew went to Miami Beach and practiced getting video of the water and the monuments from different angles. It was a sweaty, rainy and yet very productive day because the knowledge I learned helped me complete one of my biggest projects at South Florida PBS.

IMG_2460

IMG_2438

In the last month of my internship, I had the chance to produce my very own video that became part of a segment called Your Story. I did it on a small fabric store in Downtown Miami called La Casa de Las Viejas (The House of the Old Ladies). Being able to interview the owners and later shoot and edit the video was a dream come true. I had complete creative control and was able to piece together a beautiful story about a store that has been around for over 50 years. Watching my piece air on Your South Florida filled me with so much pride and joy.

img_2590.jpg

In the end, taking time off to stop and discover who I want to be really put my goals into perspective. Even though I worked for four months straight and barely took days off, it was a lifechanging experience that taught me not only about cameras, audio and editing, but about my worth.

Thank you, South Florida PBS!

Love,
Jackie

Leave a comment